Our History (Grey-Bruce Highlanders AAA Minor Hockey Association)

PrintOur History
The Grey-Bruce Highlanders began as a vision and hope for opportunities to be given to our local hockey hopefuls in 1995/96. It was a dream of a few key founders...Steve Leal, Bob Stride, Denis Longpré, Andy McGivern, Gary Henderson and Peter VanAlstine. Their hope was to provide all players with an opportunity to compete with teams in the highest calibre of hockey available. It was, and still is, the firm belief of executive members that competitive sports, coupled with outstanding coaching, plays a large role in the personal development of a player. Coaches in this organization have the vision and believe in the development of the players beyond their hockey skills. The disciplines, coupled with the successes and failures experienced as Highlanders, will help mold their characters.

The organization owes special thanks to the Arena Managers in Markdale, Flesherton, Dundalk, Ayton, Chesley, Durham and Williamsford, to name a few, for their contribution to the Grey-Bruce AAA Highlanders.

The following are persons who have made significant contributions in time and dedication to the Highlander Organization over the years:


Gary Lee Adams
Dee-Dee Adams
Bernie Ardis
Kevin Belbeck
Connie Bennett
John Birr
Vonnie Crawford
Frank Colton
Fern DesBiens
Ian Graham
Whit Edwards
Susan Etsell
Gary Henderson
Linda Herrold
Beth Hill

Herb Hudson
Shannon Kuglin
Wayne Lang
Steve Leal
Denis Longpré
Tammy Martin
Brenda McGivern
Andy McGivern
Deb Moffatt
Grant Oldrieve
Janice Rigney
Dean Rutherford
Sharon Rutherford
Debbie Robertson

Dave Roulston
Val Roulston
Michele Sguigna
Arlene Smith
Bob Stride
Howard Tregunna
Wanda Vamplew
Peter VanAlstine
John Van Beurden
Brian Warrilow
Denis Watson
Lynette Wilson
Marie Wilson
Dan Whittle